WCT: Hey Viola!

Thu April 21, 2022  to Sat May 7, 2022
Evenings 7:30pm, Saturday Matinees 2:00pm, Wednesday Tea Matinee 11:00am, No performances on Sunday
The Pavillion Theatre (1025 Lorne St, Kamloops, BC V2C 6K5, Canada)
Arts & Culture, Theatre
WCT


Viola Desmond—The Soundtrack of a Life

Created by KRYSTLE DOS SANTOS and TRACEY POWER

A Western Canada Theatre Production, in association with Musical TheatreWorks
A MUSICAL CELEBRATION OF A CIVIL RIGHTS HERO.

A smashing tour-de-force performance by acclaimed Canadian jazz and blues singer Krystle Dos Santos. Hey Viola! is a musical exploration of civil rights trailblazer, Viola Desmond—the fearless woman featured on your $10 bill.

Hey Viola! takes the audience on an extraordinary journey through Viola’s life and the events that shaped her, from the 1917 Halifax explosion to the civil rights struggles of the 1950s. Featuring hot jazz, gospel, and traditional spirituals, this eye-opening new musical brings bold, new energy to the life and times of a remarkable woman.

Featuring brilliant hits of the era from Nina Simone, Sam Cooke, The Mills Brothers, Sister Rosetta Tharpe, Richard M. Jones, and more—plus songs that influenced history including Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood, A Change is Gonna ComeSinnerman, and Mississippi Goddam.


City Centre

About The Pavillion Theatre

Click for more information and events for The Pavillion Theatre

The Pavilion Theatre is Western Canada Theatre’s intimate 165 seat “black box” theatre, which also doubles as our rehearsal hall.  The Pavilion Theatre is home to The Kamloops Live! Box Office and The Western Canada Theatre administration offices. The theatre is located at 1025 Lorne Street (corner of 10th and Lorne) in the heart of Kamloops.


Activity Stream

Sun, Jan 23, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: On Lineham Ridge – Kamloops Trails
Fri, Jan 21, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Snowshoeing the Bush Lake North Loop
Thu, Jan 20, 2022 at 10:01 am - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Is there a rational argument against climate action?
Wed, Jan 19, 2022 at 8:30 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Clapperton Hill Traverse Video – Kamloops Trails
Mon, Jan 17, 2022 at 9:12 am - Your DJ created a new Profile
Mon, Jan 17, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Red Hill Ramble – Kamloops Trails
Sat, Jan 15, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Georgina Point Heritage Park – Kamloops Trails
Thu, Jan 13, 2022 at 10:02 am - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Rest is good, but resolving global crises means not looking away
Thu, Jan 13, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Exploring the Hills in the Snow
Tue, Jan 11, 2022 at 8:30 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Red Rock Canyon Loop – Kamloops Trails
Full Stream

Upcoming Events

Thu Feb 24 to Sat Mar 5 WCT: Boom
Mon Feb 28 The Offspring
Thu Mar 24 to Sat Apr 2 WCT: Clean
Thu Mar 31 to Sat Apr 9 WCT: Kim’s Convenience
Thu May 12 to Sat May 28 WCT: The Wizard of Oz
Thu Jun 2 to Sat Jun 11 WCT: Echoes of the Homesick Heart
All Events