WCT: Echoes of the Homesick Heart

Thu June 2, 2022  to Sat June 11, 2022
Evenings 7:30pm, Saturday Matinees 2:00pm, Wednesday Tea Matinee 11:00am, No performances on Sunday
The Pavillion Theatre (1025 Lorne St, Kamloops, BC V2C 6K5, Canada)
Arts & Culture, Theatre
WCT


By LAURA MICHEL

FINDING THE VOICES.

A powerful new work exploring language reclamation and revitalization from one of our most compelling local artists. This multi-generational story explores one family’s connection and disconnection between language, culture, and community. In order to rediscover what was lost, and to move forward in understanding, each generation must learn from the other with the help of wily trickster and teacher sek̓lép (coyote).

Based on in-person interviews conducted across the Secwépemc Nation, Echoes of the Homesick Heart shares stories of this land by incorporating lived experiences and the real-life voices of youth to elders—celebrating the resilience of Indigenous families, communities, and culture.


City Centre

About The Pavillion Theatre

Click for more information and events for The Pavillion Theatre

The Pavilion Theatre is Western Canada Theatre’s intimate 165 seat “black box” theatre, which also doubles as our rehearsal hall.  The Pavilion Theatre is home to The Kamloops Live! Box Office and The Western Canada Theatre administration offices. The theatre is located at 1025 Lorne Street (corner of 10th and Lorne) in the heart of Kamloops.


Activity Stream

Thu, Jan 27, 2022 at 12:11 pm - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Wildlife corridors: from divide and conquer to connect and restore
Thu, Jan 27, 2022 at 9:40 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Into Moul Falls Cave – Kamloops Trails
Tue, Jan 25, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Winter Walks – Goose Lake Road (East)
Mon, Jan 24, 2022 at 9:39 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: A Stake Snowshoe Loop – Kamloops Trails
Mon, Jan 24, 2022 at 8:40 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Snowshoeing the Stake Lake Trails
Sun, Jan 23, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: On Lineham Ridge – Kamloops Trails
Fri, Jan 21, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Snowshoeing the Bush Lake North Loop
Thu, Jan 20, 2022 at 10:01 am - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Is there a rational argument against climate action?
Wed, Jan 19, 2022 at 8:30 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Clapperton Hill Traverse Video – Kamloops Trails
Mon, Jan 17, 2022 at 9:12 am - Your DJ created a new Profile
Full Stream

Upcoming Events

Thu Feb 24 to Sat Mar 5 WCT: Boom
Mon Feb 28 The Offspring
Thu Mar 24 to Sat Apr 2 WCT: Clean
Thu Mar 31 to Sat Apr 9 WCT: Kim’s Convenience
Thu Apr 21 to Sat May 7 WCT: Hey Viola!
Thu May 12 to Sat May 28 WCT: The Wizard of Oz
All Events