Premier’s statement on New Year’s Day

December 31, 2021 at 7:42 am  BC, News, Politics

Premier John Horgan has issued the following statement marking New Year’s Day:

“Tomorrow, we mark the beginning of a new year. Even for an optimist like myself, 2021 has been an exceptionally challenging time.

“For many, this will be remembered as the year that climate change arrived on our doorsteps. Here in B.C., we faced record-setting droughts, heat waves and forest fires, floods and mudslides.

“Through it all, British Columbians have risen to the challenge. Around the province, people have welcomed neighbours into their homes and onto their lands. They have provided food and shelter, helped rescue livestock and rushed to fill sandbags at all hours of the day and night.

“At the same time, we continue to grapple with a global pandemic that has claimed lives and threatened livelihoods. While we will feel these losses for a long time to come, there is reason for hope.

“Over the past year, the largest immunization program in B.C.’s history has rolled out around the province, with children now able to receive a safe and effective vaccine. For every person protected against COVID-19, we are all closer to reclaiming a more normal way of life.

“As a province, we have been tested in ways we never could have imagined. With each new challenge, British Columbians have responded with courage, generosity and a fierce determination to come back stronger. Our government will be there every step of the way.

“As we reflect on the year, let us celebrate the incredible resilience of British Columbians. Together, we look forward to the brighter days ahead.

“On behalf of all British Columbians, I wish you a Happy New Year!”

For a French translation, visit:  https://news.gov.bc.ca/26000

View the full article from the original source

No conversations yet

Activity Stream

Sat, Jan 15, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Georgina Point Heritage Park – Kamloops Trails
Thu, Jan 13, 2022 at 10:02 am - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Rest is good, but resolving global crises means not looking away
Thu, Jan 13, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Exploring the Hills in the Snow
Tue, Jan 11, 2022 at 8:30 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Red Rock Canyon Loop – Kamloops Trails
Sun, Jan 9, 2022 at 8:15 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: An Uplands Figure-Eight Hike – Kamloops Trails
Fri, Jan 7, 2022 at 8:40 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Pima Canyon – Kamloops Trails
Thu, Jan 6, 2022 at 1:49 pm - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Everything under the sun – David Suzuki Foundation
Wed, Jan 5, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: An Ironmask Hills Snow Stomp
Mon, Jan 3, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Doc Findlay Loop on the Snow
Sat, Jan 1, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Wandering in the Ironmask Hills
Full Stream

Upcoming Events

Thu Feb 24 to Sat Mar 5 WCT: Boom
Mon Feb 28 The Offspring
Thu Mar 24 to Sat Apr 2 WCT: Clean
Thu Mar 31 to Sat Apr 9 WCT: Kim’s Convenience
Thu Apr 21 to Sat May 7 WCT: Hey Viola!
Thu May 12 to Sat May 28 WCT: The Wizard of Oz
Thu Jun 2 to Sat Jun 11 WCT: Echoes of the Homesick Heart
All Events