Joint statement on land management discussions

December 29, 2021 at 4:43 pm  BC, News, Politics

Murray Rankin, Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation, and Marvin Yahey, Chief of the Blueberry River First Nations, have released the following update regarding the ongoing active discussions about land management in the territory:

“Today marks the sixth month since the B.C. Supreme Court issued its ruling on Yahey v. British Columbia. It determined that the constitutionally protected Treaty 8 rights of the Blueberry River First Nations have been breached by the cumulative effects of provincially authorized industrial activities within their territory. Justice Burke determined that these activities have infringed on the Nations’ ability to maintain their Indigenous way of life, centred on hunting, trapping and fishing throughout their territory as they have done for generations.

“The provincial government respects the ruling of the court, and over the last six months has been working with Blueberry River First Nations to implement the court’s decision, seeking to improve land management processes in a way that protects and respects Treaty 8 rights while balancing the economy, local jobs and the environment.

“In October, we signed an agreement as an important first step in healing the land and providing stability and certainty for 195 permit holders. Since then, these important discussions are continuing and, together, we are eager to bring forward a shared, long-term solution that supports a sustainable and stable economy.

“We recognize that this court decision has significant implications in the region, and that it has caused uncertainty for workers and local communities.

“The work we are doing involves addressing over 100 years of impacted treaty rights. We undertake this work with urgency, and we are committed to doing this right. As we work together to build a path forward, it is our expectation that everyone in the region be treated with courtesy and respect.

“Both parties remain committed to providing regular updates about these discussions and we will continue to seek input from industry, local governments and residents where appropriate.

“Our shared goal is to establish sustainability and certainty for the benefit of everyone who lives and works here, in the service of securing a positive future for everyone in northeast British Columbia.”

View the full article from the original source

No conversations yet

Activity Stream

Sun, Jan 23, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: On Lineham Ridge – Kamloops Trails
Fri, Jan 21, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Snowshoeing the Bush Lake North Loop
Thu, Jan 20, 2022 at 10:01 am - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Is there a rational argument against climate action?
Wed, Jan 19, 2022 at 8:30 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Clapperton Hill Traverse Video – Kamloops Trails
Mon, Jan 17, 2022 at 9:12 am - Your DJ created a new Profile
Mon, Jan 17, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Red Hill Ramble – Kamloops Trails
Sat, Jan 15, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Georgina Point Heritage Park – Kamloops Trails
Thu, Jan 13, 2022 at 10:02 am - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Rest is good, but resolving global crises means not looking away
Thu, Jan 13, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Exploring the Hills in the Snow
Tue, Jan 11, 2022 at 8:30 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Red Rock Canyon Loop – Kamloops Trails
Full Stream

Upcoming Events

Thu Feb 24 to Sat Mar 5 WCT: Boom
Mon Feb 28 The Offspring
Thu Mar 24 to Sat Apr 2 WCT: Clean
Thu Mar 31 to Sat Apr 9 WCT: Kim’s Convenience
Thu Apr 21 to Sat May 7 WCT: Hey Viola!
Thu May 12 to Sat May 28 WCT: The Wizard of Oz
Thu Jun 2 to Sat Jun 11 WCT: Echoes of the Homesick Heart
All Events