Coming Soon to Aberdeen – Cross-Country Ski Trails         

December 16, 2021 at 9:41 am  Kamloops, Municipal, News

The City is excited to announce the newest addition to its outdoor recreation trail repertoire—a new cross-country ski track at West Highlands Park in Aberdeen.

Opening Friday, December 17 (weather dependent), the ski trail will be available for anyone to use, free of charge.

The cross-country ski track is a 1 km loop that circles the soccer fields and community centre. The location was chosen due to its high elevation, which is likely to have more snow, and the availability of the park land.

The trail will be track set regularly using Parks personnel and specialty track-setting equipment for classic- or skate-style skiing. The unsupervised trail will be open seven days/week provided there is sufficient snow to safely use it. The washroom at West Highlands Community Centre will be open daily all winter.

“We’re excited for people to have another opportunity to get outside, be active, and enjoy the season. Keeping it free means it can be enjoyed by everyone,” said Jeff Putnam, the City’s Parks and Civic Facilities Manager. 

The City is optimistic that this is a venture that will return to the park annually, depending on snow and weather conditions. 


View Link to Original Source

No conversations yet

Activity Stream

Sat, Jan 15, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Georgina Point Heritage Park – Kamloops Trails
Thu, Jan 13, 2022 at 10:02 am - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Rest is good, but resolving global crises means not looking away
Thu, Jan 13, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Exploring the Hills in the Snow
Tue, Jan 11, 2022 at 8:30 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Red Rock Canyon Loop – Kamloops Trails
Sun, Jan 9, 2022 at 8:15 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: An Uplands Figure-Eight Hike – Kamloops Trails
Fri, Jan 7, 2022 at 8:40 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Pima Canyon – Kamloops Trails
Thu, Jan 6, 2022 at 1:49 pm - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Everything under the sun – David Suzuki Foundation
Wed, Jan 5, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: An Ironmask Hills Snow Stomp
Mon, Jan 3, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Doc Findlay Loop on the Snow
Sat, Jan 1, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Wandering in the Ironmask Hills
Full Stream

Upcoming Events

Thu Feb 24 to Sat Mar 5 WCT: Boom
Mon Feb 28 The Offspring
Thu Mar 24 to Sat Apr 2 WCT: Clean
Thu Mar 31 to Sat Apr 9 WCT: Kim’s Convenience
Thu Apr 21 to Sat May 7 WCT: Hey Viola!
Thu May 12 to Sat May 28 WCT: The Wizard of Oz
Thu Jun 2 to Sat Jun 11 WCT: Echoes of the Homesick Heart
All Events