Transforming Our Fears Into Courage

December 14, 2021 at 8:31 pm  Business, Kamloops

Transforming Our Fears Into Courage. Ya’ll know Brene Brown right (she said with her best Brene Texan’ twang and a smirk). You know, the woman that made vulnerability trendy. The woman who was courageous enough to talk about her own vulnerability. 

Brene Brown openly shares with millions that as she was researching and preparing to present on vulnerability, she encountered her own vulnerability and was called to remember how challenging it is to be vulnerable.

If you don’t know her, you should most definitely check her out!  Here is a link to her Ted Talk: https://www.ted.com/talks/brene_brown_the_power_of_vulnerability?language=en

I have recently been working on my Fear To Courage workshop and realized I am having my own version of a “Brene Brown” experience. In counselling, amongst counsellors, we talk about how we often teach what we too need to learn. Counsellors are proponents of healing for others and ourselves! If you find a great counsellor who seems to “get it”, chances are they have done some of their own work.

Imagine you were going on a trip into the Amazonian jungle. As exciting as it would be, it would also be appropriately scary. I would want to ensure that I hired a guide that knows the Amazon very well, to ensure my own safety. I wouldn’t want a tour guide who has never been there before and had just read books and watched some good documentaries about where to go! The same goes for counselling. How can I trust a counsellor to guide me through healing if they haven’t done their own work?!

Even though I believe all this and live it, I was still surprised as I was facing my own fears whilst working on the Fear To Courage training. I probably shouldn’t have been though! 

As I have been working on this course, I have been bumping up against hidden fears and being called to do “the work” as I grow courage. I have been called to transform my fears into courage and be my own alchemist. It has been a while since I have had to face fear in this way and a humbling reminder of how hard it can be. 

Alchemy is not easy! 

Transformation is not easy!

Facing fears is hard work!

To all you amazingly brave and courageous humans out there, keep going! To all you who are transforming fear to courage, keep going! See what happens when fear doesn’t stop you but instead inspires growth and overcoming. 

See what happens when you befriend our fear! Learn more about my brand new course here: https://www.kelseythecounsellor.com/fear-to-courage

 

Contributed by:

Kelsey Grimm

Website: www.kelseythecounsellor.com

Instagram: @kelseythecounsellor

View Link to Original Source

No conversations yet

Activity Stream

Thu, Jan 27, 2022 at 12:11 pm - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Wildlife corridors: from divide and conquer to connect and restore
Thu, Jan 27, 2022 at 9:40 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Into Moul Falls Cave – Kamloops Trails
Tue, Jan 25, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Winter Walks – Goose Lake Road (East)
Mon, Jan 24, 2022 at 9:39 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: A Stake Snowshoe Loop – Kamloops Trails
Mon, Jan 24, 2022 at 8:40 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Snowshoeing the Stake Lake Trails
Sun, Jan 23, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: On Lineham Ridge – Kamloops Trails
Fri, Jan 21, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Snowshoeing the Bush Lake North Loop
Thu, Jan 20, 2022 at 10:01 am - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Is there a rational argument against climate action?
Wed, Jan 19, 2022 at 8:30 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Clapperton Hill Traverse Video – Kamloops Trails
Mon, Jan 17, 2022 at 9:12 am - Your DJ created a new Profile
Full Stream

Upcoming Events

Thu Feb 24 to Sat Mar 5 WCT: Boom
Mon Feb 28 The Offspring
Thu Mar 24 to Sat Apr 2 WCT: Clean
Thu Mar 31 to Sat Apr 9 WCT: Kim’s Convenience
Thu Apr 21 to Sat May 7 WCT: Hey Viola!
Thu May 12 to Sat May 28 WCT: The Wizard of Oz
Thu Jun 2 to Sat Jun 11 WCT: Echoes of the Homesick Heart
All Events