TRU adds 114 temporary beds to house students – TRU Newsroom

December 13, 2021 at 1:48 pm  Education, Kamloops, News

KAMLOOPS—Thompson Rivers University (TRU) is expanding its on-campus housing with the addition of temporary modular units on its Kamloops campus.

The modular housing village named West Gate Dormitories consists of 114 self-contained private rooms, including individual washrooms, and is available to international and domestic students as of January 2022. The housing is located on a portion of parking lot XT, an underused lot at the corner of McGill Road and University Drive.

“We know students are struggling to find a place to live due to exceptional circumstances that have stressed the Kamloops housing supply,” said TRU Associate Vice-President Campus Infrastructure, Sustainability and Ancillary Services Warren Asuchak.

“Using an underused parking lot is a good allocation of our land resources to help address the need for more student accommodations and TRU thanks the City of Kamloops for supporting this temporary solution.”

Installation of the modular units began on Dec. 9 and students should be able to move in by Jan. 8, 2022. The housing will be in place until April 2023 and might be extended until December 2023. Students interested in applying can visit www.tru.ca/housing. Of the 239 economy parking spots in parking lot XT, 86 will continue to be available.

–30–

Contact:
Michele Young, Strategic Communications
250-828-5361 | micyoung@tru.ca

 

View Link to Original Source

No conversations yet

Activity Stream

Sun, Jan 23, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: On Lineham Ridge – Kamloops Trails
Fri, Jan 21, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Snowshoeing the Bush Lake North Loop
Thu, Jan 20, 2022 at 10:01 am - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Is there a rational argument against climate action?
Wed, Jan 19, 2022 at 8:30 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Clapperton Hill Traverse Video – Kamloops Trails
Mon, Jan 17, 2022 at 9:12 am - Your DJ created a new Profile
Mon, Jan 17, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Red Hill Ramble – Kamloops Trails
Sat, Jan 15, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Georgina Point Heritage Park – Kamloops Trails
Thu, Jan 13, 2022 at 10:02 am - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Rest is good, but resolving global crises means not looking away
Thu, Jan 13, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Exploring the Hills in the Snow
Tue, Jan 11, 2022 at 8:30 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Red Rock Canyon Loop – Kamloops Trails
Full Stream

Upcoming Events

Thu Feb 24 to Sat Mar 5 WCT: Boom
Mon Feb 28 The Offspring
Thu Mar 24 to Sat Apr 2 WCT: Clean
Thu Mar 31 to Sat Apr 9 WCT: Kim’s Convenience
Thu Apr 21 to Sat May 7 WCT: Hey Viola!
Thu May 12 to Sat May 28 WCT: The Wizard of Oz
Thu Jun 2 to Sat Jun 11 WCT: Echoes of the Homesick Heart
All Events