Esquimalt UPCC opens at permanent new location

December 6, 2021 at 2:27 pm  BC, News, Politics

Leah Hollins, board chair, Island Health –

“We are delighted the permanent Esquimalt Urgent and Primary Care Centre is now open. We are grateful to our partners and to the dedicated Esquimalt UPCC team who have been working tirelessly to prepare the new site to receive patients and provide comprehensive, compassionate, culturally safe urgent and primary care.”

Dr. Matthew Chow, president, Doctors of BC –

“We look forward to the integration of Esquimalt Urgent and Primary Care Centre in hopes it will strengthen primary care in the community. Doctors of BC has a strong interest in ensuring people have access to the health-care services they need. We also emphasize the importance of measures that strengthen the long-term relationships between patients and their family doctor. These relationships have been shown to improve health outcomes, help avoid preventable illness and reduce the cost of health care.” 

Michael Sandler, executive director, Association of Nurses and Nurse Practitioners of BC –

“Nurses and nurse practitioners of B.C. are pleased to see that the knowledge, skills and expertise of the entire health-care team will be utilized to improve access to health care for all British Columbians through urgent and primary care clinics. We believe that this approach will be pivotal in ensuring B.C. families can access health-care services, and we are excited to see the opening of another urgent and primary care clinic in B.C.”

Denise Blackwell, chair, Capital Regional Hospital District (CRHD) –

“The CRHD is pleased to see the Esquimalt UPCC creating more care options that are needed in our communities and is proud to contribute as part of our commitment to improving and sustaining health infrastructure in the region.”

Dr. Vanessa Young, board chair, South Island Division of Family Practice –

“The South Island Division of Family Practice is pleased that an urgent and primary care centre has opened in Esquimalt. We anticipate the new health-care professionals at the Esquimalt UPCC will fill part of the longitudinal primary-care gap in the South Island. As a key resource in advancing our primary care strategy within South Island Division communities; we look forward to working closely with our health authority, the Ministry of Health, local First Nations and patient partners.”

Layton Engwer, patient partner –

“This permanent centre will provide non-emergency care for our residents and evolve to attach citizens once the clinic is fully staffed. It will come to a point that we will not have to travel to other communities to see a physician/nurse practitioner or a member of the clinic’s health team. This in turn will reduce our trips to the emergency and long waits to be treated for a concern, which is less than life threatening.”

View the full article from the original source

No conversations yet

Activity Stream

Sat, Jan 15, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Georgina Point Heritage Park – Kamloops Trails
Thu, Jan 13, 2022 at 10:02 am - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Rest is good, but resolving global crises means not looking away
Thu, Jan 13, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Exploring the Hills in the Snow
Tue, Jan 11, 2022 at 8:30 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Red Rock Canyon Loop – Kamloops Trails
Sun, Jan 9, 2022 at 8:15 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: An Uplands Figure-Eight Hike – Kamloops Trails
Fri, Jan 7, 2022 at 8:40 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Pima Canyon – Kamloops Trails
Thu, Jan 6, 2022 at 1:49 pm - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Everything under the sun – David Suzuki Foundation
Wed, Jan 5, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: An Ironmask Hills Snow Stomp
Mon, Jan 3, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Doc Findlay Loop on the Snow
Sat, Jan 1, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Wandering in the Ironmask Hills
Full Stream

Upcoming Events

Thu Feb 24 to Sat Mar 5 WCT: Boom
Mon Feb 28 The Offspring
Thu Mar 24 to Sat Apr 2 WCT: Clean
Thu Mar 31 to Sat Apr 9 WCT: Kim’s Convenience
Thu Apr 21 to Sat May 7 WCT: Hey Viola!
Thu May 12 to Sat May 28 WCT: The Wizard of Oz
Thu Jun 2 to Sat Jun 11 WCT: Echoes of the Homesick Heart
All Events