GARAND AND STANKOVEN NAMED TO CANADA’S SELECTION CAMP – Kamloops Blazers

December 1, 2021 at 9:04 am  Kamloops Blazers, Sports

GARAND, STANKOVEN INVITED TO CANADA’S NATIONAL JUNIOR CAMP

Kamloops, BC – The Kamloops Blazers will have two players participate in Hockey Canada’s National Junior Team selection camp December 9-12 in Calgary.

Goaltender Dylan Garand has been named to the final roster for the second straight year after earning a Silver Medal with Canada’s 2021 National Junior Team. He is one of three goaltenders named to the team.

The Victoria, BC native is 14-2-0-0 with a 1.76 goals against average and has a .935 save percentage through 16 games with the Blazers this season. He leads the WHL in wins and save percentage.

Garand, who was selected by the New York Rangers in the 2020 NHL Draft, is in his fourth season with the Blazers. He has suited up for Hockey Canada at the Under-17, Under-18 and Under-20 levels.

Stankoven is among 20 forwards invited to the camp. The 18-year-old is currently fifth in WHL scoring with 12 goals, 17 assists and 29 points in 19 games.

The Kamloops, BC native won a Gold Medal with Canada’s Under-18 team in May after putting up eight points in seven games. He has also played for Canada at the Under-17 level and participated in the National Junior Team summer development camp this past August.

Stankoven is a 2021 second round NHL pick of the Dallas Stars and is a co-captain with his hometown Kamloops Blazers.

-30-

View Link to Original Source

No conversations yet

Activity Stream

Sun, Jan 23, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: On Lineham Ridge – Kamloops Trails
Fri, Jan 21, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Snowshoeing the Bush Lake North Loop
Thu, Jan 20, 2022 at 10:01 am - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Is there a rational argument against climate action?
Wed, Jan 19, 2022 at 8:30 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Clapperton Hill Traverse Video – Kamloops Trails
Mon, Jan 17, 2022 at 9:12 am - Your DJ created a new Profile
Mon, Jan 17, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Red Hill Ramble – Kamloops Trails
Sat, Jan 15, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Georgina Point Heritage Park – Kamloops Trails
Thu, Jan 13, 2022 at 10:02 am - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Rest is good, but resolving global crises means not looking away
Thu, Jan 13, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Exploring the Hills in the Snow
Tue, Jan 11, 2022 at 8:30 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Red Rock Canyon Loop – Kamloops Trails
Full Stream

Upcoming Events

Thu Feb 24 to Sat Mar 5 WCT: Boom
Mon Feb 28 The Offspring
Thu Mar 24 to Sat Apr 2 WCT: Clean
Thu Mar 31 to Sat Apr 9 WCT: Kim’s Convenience
Thu Apr 21 to Sat May 7 WCT: Hey Viola!
Thu May 12 to Sat May 28 WCT: The Wizard of Oz
Thu Jun 2 to Sat Jun 11 WCT: Echoes of the Homesick Heart
All Events