Drivers should plan for major highway closures this weekend

November 26, 2021 at 4:02 pm  BC, News, Politics

Due to incoming weather, the Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure is proactively closing Highway 3 between Hope and Princeton, and Highway 99 between Pemberton and Lillooet on Saturday afternoon.

Highway 1 in the Fraser Canyon will also be closed on Saturday as a precaution. The exact time and duration of closures will depend on the weather.

The highway infrastructure in these areas is extremely vulnerable following recent storms, and more heavy rain in the forecast poses an additional risk.

The closures of these three highways will be re-evaluated on Sunday morning, with the highways reopened when it is safe to do so. Updates will be posted online: DriveBC.ca

Highway 1 between Popkum and Hope will also be closed on Saturday afternoon due to reservoir releases by BC Hydro, crucial to protect the Jones Lake Reservoir, which is also being affected by the heavy rains.  

Each release will discharge additional water toward areas of Highway 1 that were previously affected in the Nov. 14 storm. This additional flow – combined with the increased precipitation and already high stream flows – poses a risk of impact to Highway 1 in the Laidlaw area.

A reopening time for Highway 1 between Popkum and Hope is undetermined as it is expected that these combinations of events will result in further damage to Highway 1. Crews will undertake assessment when it is safe to do so, and equipment will be on standby for repairs.

Highway 7 between Mission and Hope remains open with travel restrictions in place. Essential purposes for travel are defined in the travel restrictions order through the Emergency Program Act. 

Environment and Climate Change Canada has special weather statements in effect for Metro Vancouver and the Fraser Valley, Squamish to Whistler and the Sunshine Coast from now into next week. Flood conditions may arise in the areas during the period of these storms. The River Forecast Centre has issued high streamflow advisories for all regions of the coast.

Learn More:

The Service BC Flood Response Info line is (toll-free): 1 833 376-2452

For a list of Essential Purposes for travel and routes to which the order applies, see: www.gov.bc.ca/floodresponse

For updated road conditions, go to: www.DriveBC.ca

For information on winter tires and chains regulations:
https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/transportation/driving-and-cycling/traveller-information/seasonal/winter-driving

For winter driving tips, visit: www.shiftintowinter.ca

View the full article from the original source

No conversations yet

Activity Stream

Sun, Jan 23, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: On Lineham Ridge – Kamloops Trails
Fri, Jan 21, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Snowshoeing the Bush Lake North Loop
Thu, Jan 20, 2022 at 10:01 am - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Is there a rational argument against climate action?
Wed, Jan 19, 2022 at 8:30 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Clapperton Hill Traverse Video – Kamloops Trails
Mon, Jan 17, 2022 at 9:12 am - Your DJ created a new Profile
Mon, Jan 17, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Red Hill Ramble – Kamloops Trails
Sat, Jan 15, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Georgina Point Heritage Park – Kamloops Trails
Thu, Jan 13, 2022 at 10:02 am - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Rest is good, but resolving global crises means not looking away
Thu, Jan 13, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Exploring the Hills in the Snow
Tue, Jan 11, 2022 at 8:30 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Red Rock Canyon Loop – Kamloops Trails
Full Stream

Upcoming Events

Thu Feb 24 to Sat Mar 5 WCT: Boom
Mon Feb 28 The Offspring
Thu Mar 24 to Sat Apr 2 WCT: Clean
Thu Mar 31 to Sat Apr 9 WCT: Kim’s Convenience
Thu Apr 21 to Sat May 7 WCT: Hey Viola!
Thu May 12 to Sat May 28 WCT: The Wizard of Oz
Thu Jun 2 to Sat Jun 11 WCT: Echoes of the Homesick Heart
All Events