Updated regulation to benefit B.C.’s container truck drivers, sector

June 25, 2019 at 7:12 am  BC, News, Politics

The British Columbia government is moving forward with two key actions to benefit B.C.’s container truck drivers and the trucking sector.

Effective Monday, July 1, 2019, the container trucking commissioner will have authority to set rates and fuel surcharges. This is designed to help maintain stability, fairness and competitiveness in the sector.

To achieve this, government will repeal the current rates and remuneration provisions from the Container Trucking Regulation. In setting rates, the commissioner will be guided by the principles of balancing fair compensation for drivers and ensuring the ongoing competitiveness of the sector.

This action supports the commissioner’s implementation of a new $25 positioning rate to compensate drivers for trips without containers, which currently are unpaid.

As of July 1, drivers will receive the $25 rate supplement to every paid trip-rate container move. This new rate benefits drivers by recognizing their time spent driving, while minimizing industry disruption and enabling effective audit and enforcement by the commissioner.

The Office of the BC Container Trucking Commissioner enforces compliance with the Container Trucking Act, issues container trucking services licences within the truck licensing system and facilitates ongoing policy and regulatory review.

Learn More:

For more information about the Office of the B.C. Container Trucking Commissioner and to view the commissioner’s rates and remuneration order, after July 1, 2019, visit: http://obcctc.ca/

View the full article from the original source

No conversations yet

Activity Stream

Thu, Jan 27, 2022 at 12:11 pm - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Wildlife corridors: from divide and conquer to connect and restore
Thu, Jan 27, 2022 at 9:40 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Into Moul Falls Cave – Kamloops Trails
Tue, Jan 25, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Winter Walks – Goose Lake Road (East)
Mon, Jan 24, 2022 at 9:39 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: A Stake Snowshoe Loop – Kamloops Trails
Mon, Jan 24, 2022 at 8:40 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Snowshoeing the Stake Lake Trails
Sun, Jan 23, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: On Lineham Ridge – Kamloops Trails
Fri, Jan 21, 2022 at 9:00 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Snowshoeing the Bush Lake North Loop
Thu, Jan 20, 2022 at 10:01 am - David Suzuki posted on their blog: Is there a rational argument against climate action?
Wed, Jan 19, 2022 at 8:30 am - Doug Smith posted on their blog: Clapperton Hill Traverse Video – Kamloops Trails
Mon, Jan 17, 2022 at 9:12 am - Your DJ created a new Profile
Full Stream

Upcoming Events

Thu Feb 24 to Sat Mar 5 WCT: Boom
Mon Feb 28 The Offspring
Thu Mar 24 to Sat Apr 2 WCT: Clean
Thu Mar 31 to Sat Apr 9 WCT: Kim’s Convenience
Thu Apr 21 to Sat May 7 WCT: Hey Viola!
Thu May 12 to Sat May 28 WCT: The Wizard of Oz
Thu Jun 2 to Sat Jun 11 WCT: Echoes of the Homesick Heart
All Events